A sighting

I honestly was starting to think he was a figment of my imagination and those articles and the blogs I’ve started reading were a coincidence. I hadn’t seen him in over a week. Life has been better now that I’m out of school and don’t have to worry about that particular brand of “socializing” for another three months. I’d begun thinking that maybe it was just stress that made me see him.

Unfortunately, I was wrong. I can admit when that happens. I was very, very wrong.

As I was coming in from fishing, I felt that same tingle on the back of my neck as I had at the boardwalk awhile back. I looked around, and there he was. The Tall Man was out on one of the public docks, watching me as I brought the boat back in. He was sitting on the edge of the structure, those too thin, too long legs draping over and into the water. I swear I saw him moving them slightly, kicking like a child would.

He didn’t do anything. He just watched me the entire time as I went by. If what I read in A Perchance To Dream is true, he often does that. He watches. He waits. And then you’re crazy, fighting, or disappeared.

All these blogs? They go on and on about how once he appears, you don’t have any choice in the matter. You’re done for. He’s a force of chaos that does nothing but ruin lives and there’s nothing you can do about it.

I refuse to believe that. There is always a choice. Order always prevails. There is always something you can do.

All will be well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.